Pregnancy Update, Week 18

(Yes, I know it’s terribly cliche to write a pregnancy update–but I finally got around to having Tyler take my first belly shot, so I had to write a post to go with it.)

image

At 18 weeks:

–I think I’m feeling baby now.

–I have gained 1/3 to 1/4 the weight I’d gained by this time with Emma Jane. I attribute this to my more active lifestyle (chasing a toddler will do that to you) and much better diet. It adds up to about 7 pounds.

–Speaking of Emma Jane, we quit co-sleeping about a month ago and started night weaning two weeks ago. It’s done wonders for my energy level.

–Also weaning during the day now. Down to two feedings. It’s all kinda sad, I must admit. Half of me wanted to tandem nurse.

–My 16 week checkup had to be rescheduled, so I just heard the baby’s heartbeat for the second time on Thursday. She found it within a minute, which was surprising since it took a good 15 at my 12 week visit. Very good, strong heartbeat, but in the midrange (meaning no gender guessing).

–My arthritis has not gone into remission this time. It’s definitely been the hardest thing about this pregnancy. For the last six weeks I’ve been having moderate to severe flareups at least once a week. However, it seems to be getting better now. Don’t know if it’s weaning or just getting to the second trimester that’s making a difference, but I’ll take it.

–I’m craving milk and baked potatoes. And pork invariably makes me sick. Also I’m very sensitive to heat. I made my more husband turn off the heat in the car this evening, even though it was 43 degrees outside.

–I started wearing maternity skirts and leggings last week. This week I wore my first maternity top. I’m at the awkward stage where regular clothes are too small and maternity clothes are too big. In the picture I’m wearing a maternity top and regular skirt.

–Emma Jane has no idea, though she has been very into babies for the last couple of months.

–Baby Poppyseed is no longer an accurate moniker, as baby is now the size of a bellpepper. Why do they measure it by food? Just to tease pregnant women with cravings and aversions?

–Last pregnancy I had a spurt of second trimester nesting. That is the only way I can explain the constant urge to ‘do stuff’ that has hit me over the last three weeks. Fall housecleaning! Big organisation projects! Decorating the house! Christmas shopping! I want to do it all!

–I think I’m scheduling our ultrasound for Friday, though I may decide to wait till 19 weeks. And yes, we’re finding out the gender. Why would we have an ultrasound and not find out the gender? We’re not the patient types.

–I can’t believe I’m almost halfway through!

image

1 Comment

  1. November 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    refreshing to hear about a cosleeping christian family!

    maybe its just the circles i run in, but most of my christian friends see cosleeping as spoiling your baby :( though many of my non-christian mommy friends do it.

    btw, found your blog through femina in case you are wondering :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

